Travel guide: Battambang, Cambodia

Battambang is a city that a lot of tourists ignore and I can understand that. It is not as lively as Phnom Penh or Siem Reap, but I would definitely recommand staying here for a night or two. I only spend one day in Battambang, because my friend Nina and I could not wait any longer to go to Siem Reap to see Angkor Wat. On that day we shared a tuktuk with three guys that were staying at our hostel and visited a few sights in the area.

Battambang is een stad die veel toeristen links laten liggen en dat snap ik wel. Het is niet zo levendig en westerns als Phnom Penh of Siem Reap, maar als je de tijd hebt, is Battambang zeker de moeite waard. Ik ben slechts een dag gebleven, omdat mijn reisgenote Nina en ik niet langer konden wachten en graag naar Siem Reap wilden. Dus we besloten die dag een tuktuk te delen met drie jongens uit ons hostel om de bezienswaardigheden in de omgeving te bezoeken.

SIGHTS/ ZIEN

– Bamboo train
A ride on the bamboo train is the reason why people go to Battambang. It is definitely a special experience. You sit on cushions on a bamboo raft that rides on rails and the twenty to thirty minute ride takes you to a little village. There you can buy a drink or a souvenir. Be aware of all the little children trying to sell you things (bracelets). After fifteen minutes you ride back.

Een ritje met de bamboe trein is de reden waarom mensen naar Battambang komen. Het is zeker een speciale ervaring. Je zit op kussen op een bamboo vlot die over de rails rijdt. Na twintig a dertig minuten rijden kom je bij een klein dorpje. Daar kun je wat te drinken kopen of een souvenir. Let op de kleine kinderen die je bijv. armbandjes willen verkopen. Na een kwartiertje rijd je terug.

– Phnom Sampeau
Phnom Sampeau is a limestone mountain near Battambang. On this hilltop you will find Wat Sampeau and a few caves. To get to the top you need to walk up a lot of stairs. But it is worth it… from the top you have a nice view over Battambang.

Phnom Sampeau berg van kalksteen vlakbij Battambang. Op deze top staat Wat Sampeau en ook vind je er een paar grotten. Om bij de top te komen moet je heel wat treden oplopen. Maar dat is het waard….vanaf de top heb je een mooi uitzicht over Battambang.

– The bat cave
I did not know what to expect when people told me about the bat cave…but wow! This is a cave full of bats and when the sunset starts, they fly out of the cave. Because there are more then one million bats, this will take at least fifteen minutes…and it is awesome!
We arrived an hour before sunset and could hear the bats making noises more and more the closer it came to the sunset. It was one of the most unique experiences I have ever had.

Toen men mij vertelde over de vleermuizengrot wist ik niet wat ik kon verwachten. Het blijkt een grot vol vleermuizen te zijn en als de zon onder gaat, vliegen ze uit. Omdat het meer dan een miljoen vleermuizen gaat, duurt dit minstens een kwartier… en het is geweldig!
Wij waren er al ruim voordat de zon onderging en hoorden de vleermuizen geluid maken, steeds harder en harder. Het was een van de meest unieke ervaringen ooit!

FOOD/ ETEN
Since I only stayed in Battambang for one night, I can not give an good opinion about the food there. We had read about a restaurant, but when we went there it was closed. However we came across a cute restaurant called The Kitchen and had dinner and breakfast there.

Omdat ik maar een nacht in Battambang verbleef, kan ik geen goede mening geven over het eten daar. Wij hadden gelezen over een goed restaurant, maar toen we voor de deur stonden was deze helaas gesloten. Echter, we kwamen langs een leuk uitziend restaurant genaamd The Kitchen en aten zowel die avond als de volgende ochtend hier.

cambodia-battambang-rat

During our daytrip the tuktukdriver asked us if we had ever tried rat. When we said we had not, he stopped at the side of the road, where there was a little shop, and told us to try it. After hesitating one of the guys bought a rat and gave all of us a little piece. It tasted like very dry chicken.

Tijdens onze dagtrip vroeg onze tuktukchauffeur ons of wij wel eens rat hadden gegeten. Toen wij zeiden van niet, stopte hij aan de kant van de weg bij een winkeltje en zei dat we het moesten proberen. Na wat twijfelen kocht een van de jongens een rat en gaf ieder een stukje. Het smaakte als erg droge kip.

cambodia-battambang-ganeshaguesthouse

HOSTEL/ SLAPEN
After the wordt busride ever (click here for my story about that), I arrived in Battambang at six o’clock in the morning. My friend Nina was staying at Ganesha Family Guesthouse and we agreed upon meeting there. But when I arrived there it was ‘closed’. The guard, an old man, gestured me to sit down on their little terrace. So I sat there and waited….for two hours! During those hours I just read in my Lonely Planet book and wrote in my traveldiary. At eight o’clock I texted Nina that I was downstairs and she came down. The hostel got a little busier and we ate breakfast there.
We slept in a dorm with one other guy. The beds were big, the room was spacious and we had our own musquito nets. Overall a fine guesthouse.

Na de ergste busreis ooit (klik hier voor het artikel daarover) kwam ik om zes uur ‘s ochtends aan in Battambang. Nina sliep in het Ganesha Family Guest House en wij hadden afgesproken dat ik daar ook naartoe kwam. Maar toen ik daar arriveerde was het ‘dicht’. De bewaker, een oude man, gebaarde dat ik moest gaan zitten op het kleine terras. Dus ik ging zitten en wachtte….wel twee uren! In die tijd las ik in mijn Lonely Planet boek en schreef ik in mijn reisdagboek. Om acht uur stuurde ik Nina een berichtje dat ik beneden zat en kwam zij eraan. Het hostel begon wat levendiger te worden en we ontbeten daar.
We sliepen in een kamer met een andere jongen. De bedden waren groot, de kamer was erg ruim en we hadden ieder ons eigen muggennet. Al met al een goed guesthouse.

Leave a Reply

