Spotlight on: A try-dive at Koh Phi Phi

trydive-kohphiphi (2)Koh Phi Phi is besides the partyscene, known for its diving. There are a lot of diveschools on the island where you can either do a try-dive or get your open water certificate. In 2015, I decided to do a try-dive at Island Divers; it meant that I would do two dives on one day, not too deep (around 12 m), without doing tests etc., just to see if I would like diving.

The morning before the try-dive, Nina (who was joining me on the try-dive) and I were so nervous, so we could not eat any breakfast.
After some safety instructions on the mainland, we got on the boat and went to the first divesite called Palong. We were a group with a Norwegian called Thor (funnily enough the weather was not great; thunder, lighting and rain) and our dive-guide Drikus. We got into our gear and jumped in the water. After a few little test, we were going down….which freaked me out! I panicked. I felt like I could not breath….I had to get used to the breathing with the regulator. Luckily, Drikus was very calm and gave me time to adjust to the situation, before we were really going down. Once we were down I was fine. All the fish and coral…it was wonderful to see.

After the first dive we had lunch. I was still a little nauseous and ended up puking my food out into the water….which led to a lot of fish on the surface and that made all the other divers on our boat laugh…oops!
The second dive was at Bida Noc. This dive was great, although I had some trouble with the buoyancy. We saw so many fish (I think my fav’s definitely the colorful parrotfish).

Once we were done diving, I knew I wanted to get my open water certificate. Sadly I had no time and money left to do that during my stay on Koh Phi Phi. So I got my certificate last summer on Koh Tao, which I will talk about in a seperate post.

Koh Phi Phi staat bekend om het duiken. Er zijn veel duikscholen op het eiland waar je een try-dive of je open water certificaat kan behalen. In 2015, besloot ik om een try-dive te doen bij Island Divers; dit betekende dat ik twee duiken op een dag zouden doen, die niet te diep waren, zonder tests of examens; gewoon om te zien of ik duiken leuk vond.

The ochtend van de try-dive waren Nina (die ook een try-dive deed) en ik beide zo zenuwachtig, dat we geen ontbijt naar binnen kregen. Na wat veiligheidsinstructies op het ‘vaste’ land, stapten we op de boot en vaarden we naar de eerste duikplek genaamd Palong. We zaten in een groep met de Noorse Thor (grappig genoeg regende en onweerde het ook die ochtend) en onze duik-instructeur Drikus. We trokken onze wetsuits aan en alle andere equipment (wat zwaar!) en sprongen in het water. Na wat kleine testjes gingen we onder water….. en raakte ik in paniek! Ik had het gevoel dat ik niet kon ademen…. ik moest wennen aan het regulator…. Gelukkig was Drikus erg kalm en gaf hij mij de tijd om te wennen, voordat we onder water gingen. Toen we eenmaal onder water waren was ik blij. Al die vissen en koraal…het was geweldig om te zien.

Na de eerste duik was het tijd voor lunch. Ik was nog steeds een beetje misselijk en spuugde mijn lunch in het water. Dat zorgde ervoor dat er veel vissen naar de oppervlakte kwamen en dat vonden de mede duikers erg grappig.
De tweede duik was bij Bida Noc. Deze duik was fantastische, ondanks dat ik wat moeilijk had met het goed blijven drijven. Ik zag erg veel vissen (ik denk dat mijn favoriete de felgekleurde parrotfish (papagaai vis) is.

Toen we klaar waren met het duiken wist ik dat ik mijn open water certificaat wilde halen, helaas had ik geen tijd en geld om dat nog tijdens mijn verblijf op Koh Phi Phi te doen. Dus toen in afgelopen zomer op Koh Tao was, heb ik daar mijn open water certificaat behaald. Ik zal hierover nog een apart artikel posten.

Leave a Reply

