Travelstories: A day in the life- backpacker edition

Most of my articles have been travel guides, tips or about activities. This gave you a lot of information about what to see and where to eat, but I usually do not share a lot of personal stuff. I wanted to give you a better look into ‘my personal backpacking experience’, and when I was reading through my traveljournals the other day, I thought it might be fun to give you a look into ‘a day in the life’; that way you can see what a ‘normal’ day for a backpacker is. I picked out one day that had a little bit of everything.

adayinthelife-backpackeredition -parkThis was day 5 of my 2015-trip (Hanoi, Vietnam)
After I had breakfast in my hostel, I walked to a little supermarket to buy some water and snacks (rice crackers!). Because Vietnamese New Year was a few days earlier, the streets were full with Vietnamese families. I sat down on a bench in the park near Hoan Kiem Lake and did some people-watching. All the locals were dressed up and the childeren wore cute costumes. For about an hour I just sat there and took photo’s.

At eleven o’clock I met three people from my hostel in front of the Ngoc Son temple, which is the one in the lake. We walked over the red bridge to the temple and saw how busy it was. Inside we saw the turtle statue, and outside were people buring incense. Because the smell was very strong, we left the temple after about half an hour.
We wanted to see an museum, but it was closed because of the New Year.

The others suggested to have lunch and we quickly found a spot where we tried Vietnamese BBQ. It was delicious. and cheap…and the lemonade was good too.
Then we decided to go our own way, since I wanted to visit the Bach Ma Temple.
Back in the hostel I booked my bed for a few more nights and talked with the people in my dorm.

At the end of the afternoon we went to the rooftopbar to have a few drinks and played some drinking games. We took a quick break to have dinner in the restaurant-area of our hostel, and then we got back to the rooftopbar.

-> Is this type of day similar to your backpacker-days?

Mijn artikelen gaan grotendeels over reisgidsen, tips en activiteiten. Ze geven jullie veel informatie over wat je kan zien en waar je moet eten, maar vaak deel ik weinig persoonlijke dingen. Ik wilde jullie een kijkje geven in mijn ‘backpack ervaring’, en toen ik door mijn reisdagboekjes bladerde dacht ik dat een ‘dag in het leven van een backpacker’ wel een leuk idee zou zijn.

Dit was dag 5 van mijn trip in 2015 (Hanoi, Vietnam)
Nadat ik had ontbeten in het hostel liep ik naar een kleine supermarkt. Daar kocht ik water en snacks (rijstcrackers!). Omdat het een paar dagen eerder Vietnamees nieuwjaar was, zijn de straten vol met Vietnamese families. Ik ging op een bankje in het park bij Hoan Kiem Lake zitten en gingen mensen kijken. Zij waren allemaal netjes gekleed en de kinderen hadden speciale pakjes aan. Gedurende een uur zat ik daar en maakte ik veel foto’s.

Om elf uur ging ik met drie mensen van mijn hostel naar de Ngoc Son temple, die midden in Hoan Kiem Lake ligt. We liepen over de rose brug en zagen dat het enorm druk was. Binnen zagen we een beeld van een schildpad en buiten waren mensen druk bezig met wierook. Omdat de geur erg sterk was, zijn we na een half uur weer weggegaan. We liepen naar een museum, maar deze bleek gesloten te zijn in verband met nieuwjaar.

De anderen stelden voor om te gaan lunchen en dus liepen we naar een tentje waar we Vietnamese BBQ konden proberen. Het was lekker en goedkoop….en de limonade was ook erg lekker. Daarna gingen we ieder onze eigen weg; ik liep naar de Bach Ma Temple.
Terug in het hostel verlengde ik mijn verblijf en praatte ik met de mensen in mijn dorm.

Aan het einde van de middag gingen we naar de bar op het dak waar we een paar drankjes dronken en drankspelletjes speelden. We namen een kleine pauze om in het restaurant in het hostel te eten, en gingen daarna weer naar de bar.

-> Is dit ook hoe jouw backpack-dag er uit ziet?

One thought on “Travelstories: A day in the life- backpacker edition

Leave a Reply

