Travelstories: Getting sick during your trip

travelstories-gettingsick-2

Backpacking through Southeast Asia is a fun experience. You get to see a lot, meet nice people and eat foreign dishes. However, one of downsides is that you probably will get sick at least once during your trip. And that is nothing to be ashamed of; ask any backpacker and they will tell you that they have been sick too.

I think the most common ‘sickness’ is diarrhea. I got it already on my second day of my first trip in Southeast Asia. It could be that my body just needed to adjust to the food, or the food was bad… I do not know. Luckily it is usually easy to solve with some rest, a lot of water (with some dehydration powder) and sometimes a imodium tablet (if you have to go somewhere), and after a day you should feel fine.

But what if you do not feel fine after a few days? That was the question I had to answer during my first trip to Southeast Asia in 2015. I started getting sick while I was in Mui Ne (Vietnam). I was coughing like crazy and had a runny nose. I thought it was because of the airconditioning in the busses or because I had had partied too much in Hoi An. So I bought a load of strepsils and waited.
Four days later I was in Phnom Penh (Cambodia) and I started to feel worse. I could not hold any food inside. For five days I was ‘stuck in my hostel’, although I tried to do some sightseeing in the mornings, after midday I would feel bad. Also I started vomiting and having diarrhea, which is not a combination you want to have. After talking to my parents on the phone, I decided to go to a doctor.

However at that time I was not in Phnom Penh anymore, I had taken the minivan to Kampot, a smaller city. The hostel where I stayed in arranged a tuktuk for me and he brought me to Sonia Kill Hospital. After the nurse took my bloodpressure, weight, height etc., I could see the doctor. Both of them spoke English well and it was not busy at the hospital. The doctor asked a bunch of questions, did some testing and gave me a prescription for antibiotics.
I have to admit, until that point I had not thought about the costs of all of this! So while being scared of the costs, I walked to the pharmacy that was in the hospital. It turned out I had to pay one dollar for the medicine (four tablets) plus nineteen dollars because it was a consult on the weekend. And because I had travel insurrence, I could get my money back from them. The day after I had taken the antibiotics I felt fine again.

My tips:
* Always take paracetamol, imodium and strepsils with you on your trip.
* Make sure you have a good travel and/or health insurance.
* Ask for help when you feel ill; people who work in your hostel can give you information about hospitals and doctors.

-> Have you ever been sick while traveling? How did you deal with it?

Backpacken door Zuidoost Azië is een leuke ervaring. Je ziet veel, ontmoet aardige mensen en eet vreemde gerechten. Helaas is een van de nadelen…dat je zeker een keer ziek wordt tijdens je trip. En dat is niets om je voor te schamen; vraag een backpacker en ze vertellen je dat zij echt wel eens ziek zijn geweest.

De meest voorkomende ‘ziekte’ is diarree. Ik had er al na twee dagen in Zuidoost Azië last van. Misschien moest mijn lichaam wennen aan het eten of was het eten niet meer goed… ik weet het niet. Gelukkig is het vaak makkelijk op te lossen met wat rust, heel veel water (met ORS oplossing) en soms een imodium tablet (als je ergens naartoe moet), en de volgende dag voel je je vaak wel beter.

Maar wat als het na een een paar dagen niet over is? Dat was de vraag die ik mezelf stelde tijdens mijn eerste reis naar Zuidoost Azië in 2015. Ik begon me ziek te voelen toen ik in Mui Ne (Vietnam) was. Ik hoestte als een gek en had een loopneus. Omdat ik dacht dat het waarschijnlijk aan de airco in de bussen lag of aan het feesten in Hoi An, kocht ik een doos strepsils en wachtte.
Vier dagen later was ik in Phnom Penh (Cambodja) en begon ik me slechter te voelen. Ik kon geen eten binnenhouden. Vijf dagen lang zat ik ‘vast in het hostel’. ‘s Ochtends probeerde ik een bezienswaardigheid te bezoeken, maar na de lunch voelde ik me vaak slechter. Ook begon ik meerdere keren per dag (vaak na het eten) over te geven en ook had ik last van diarree, dit was geen fijne combinatie. Na een telefoongesprek met mijn ouders besloot ik een dokter op te zoeken.

Op dat moment was ik niet meer in Phnom Penh, want ik had een minivan naar Kampot gekomen. Het hostel waar ik sliep regelde een tuktuk en deze bracht mij naar het Sonia Kill Hospital. Eerst nam de zuster mijn bloeddruk op en woog ze mij, daarna kon ik naar de dokter. Gelukkig spraken zowel de zuster als de dokter goed Engels en was het niet druk in het ziekenhuis. De dokter vroeg mij wat vragen, deed wat testjes en gaf mij een recept voor antibiotica.
Om eerlijk te zijn was dat pas het moment dat ik me realiseerde dat dit wel eens duur zou kunnen uitvallen! Met enige twijfel liep ik naar de apotheek in het ziekenhuis. Daar bleek dat ik een dollar voor het medicijn (vier tabletten) moest betalen en negentien dollar voor het doktersconsult, omdat het weekend was. En omdat ik een reisverzekering had waarin medische kosten waren meeverzekerd, kreeg ik dit bedrag terug. De dag nadat ik de antibiotica had genomen voelde ik mij al weer beter.

Mijn tips:
* Neem altijd paracetamol, imodium and strepsils mee op reis.
* Zorg ervoor dat je een goede reisverzekering en/of zorgverzekering hebt.
* Vraag om hulp als je ziek bent; werknemers van jouw hostel kunnen je informatie geven over ziekenhuizen en doktoren.

-> Ben jij wel eens ziek geweest tijdens het reizen? Hoe ging je daarmee om?


One thought on “Travelstories: Getting sick during your trip

Leave a comment