Travel guide: Vang Vieng, Laos

Vang Vieng is known for tubing and partying, but this town has much more to offer. The landscape is gorgeous with the mountains covered in clouds, wide green fields and palm trees. Since I only spend two days in Vang Vieng, I wanted to stay far away from the partyscene. Instead, I went on a kayaking tour, that I booked by a random touragency in town. When I got picked up the next day, it turned out that the rest of the group were all South Koreans. The girls/women did not speak to me, but the guys were kind and even bought me a coffee (which I kindly accepted even though I do not drink coffee).

Vang Vieng staat bekend om het tuben en feesten, maar dit stadje heeft veel meer te bieden. Het landschap is prachtig met de bergen omringd door wolken, de langgestrekte groene velden en palmbomen. Omdat ik maar twee dagen in Vang Vieng was, wilde ik ver van de feestende mensen blijven. In plaats daarvan boekte ik een kayaktour bij een reisbureau in het stadje. Toen ik de volgende ochtend werd opgehaald, bleek dat de rest van de groep bestond uit Zuid Koreanen. De meiden/vrouwen keken niet naar mij om, maar de jongens waren vriendelijk en kochten zelfs een koffie voor me (die ik aannam ondanks dat ik geen koffie drink).

SIGHTS/ ZIEN

– Kayakking
A big part of the kayaktour consisted of… you guessed it… kayakking. Since I had already been kayakking in Don Det, our guide put me in a kayak with one of the South Korean guys. Communicating was a bit difficult at first, but it was fine since I just enjoyed the scenery. When we started kayakking it was sunny, but after a few hours it started to rain.

Een groot deel van de kayaktour bestond uit… je raadt het al… kayakken. Omdat ik in Don Det ook al had gekayakt, zette onze gids mij in een kayak met een van de Zuid Koreaanse jongens. In het begin was het wel moeilijk om met hem te communiceren, maar ik vond het niet erg en genoot van de omgeving. Toen we de tocht begonnen was het zonnig, maar naar een paar uur begon het te regenen.

– The elephant cave
During the kayaktour we made a few stops. One of them was the elephant cave. I have to say it was not that spectacular, since it was ‘only a rock that looked like an elephant’.

Tijdens onze kayaktocht maakten we een paar stops. Een daarvan was bij de olifanten grot. Ik moet zeggen dat het niet erg spectaculair was, het was ‘slechts’ een stuk rots dat leek op een olifant.

– The Blue Lagoon
The Blue Lagoon was another stop. This is a blue looking pond where lots of tourists and locals hop in the water and have a good time. There are swings in the water and people jump off trees in the water while the crowd is screaming. It was very fun to watch. There were toilets and I believe you could buy some food as well.

De Blue Lagoon was een andere stop. Dit is een blauwe vijver waar veel toeristen en locals in het water springen. Er zijn schommels in het water en veel mensen springen vanuit de boom in het water onder luid geschreeuw en gejuich van de toeschouwers. Het was erg grappig om te zien. Ook waren er toiletten en ik geloof dat je ergens ook wel eten kon kopen.

FOOD/ ETEN
The food in Vang Vieng was nothing special. Maxime and I were having dinner one evening, she chose spaghetti and I chose noodles and our dishes looked exactly the same!
The only place I liked was a bakery called Luang Prabang Bakery (confusing huh?!). I got a sandwich there one day, and Maxime and I shared a chocolate cake here too. The cake was delicious and the staff was very kind.

Het eten in Vang Vieng was niet erg speciaal. Een avond aten Maxime en ik samen, zij koos spaghetti en ik noedels, en onze gerechten zagen er precies hetzelfde uit!
De enige plek die ik goed vond was Luang Prabang Bakery (verwarrend he?). Ik had daar een sandwich gehad, en Maxime en ik hadden ook een chocolade cake gedeeld. De cake was heerlijk en het personeel was erg vriendelijk.

HOSTEL/ SLAPEN
The two nights in Vang Vieng I stayed at Pan’s Place. I chose this guesthouse because I wanted to be away from the partyhostels. This guesthouse was quiet (maybe a little too quiet) and there was not really a social vibe.
I chose to sleep in one of the bamboo huts, which had (three) matresses on the ground. I shared this hut with two other people. It might not sound that appealing, but it was clean and that is what matters most. The bathrooms were outside and also pretty clean. There was a common area outside with a roof and hammocks, a perfect place to chill and read a bit.
They also had a little restaurant in the front, so breakfast was possible too.

De twee nachten in Vang Vieng sliep ik bij Pan’s Place. Ik koos dit guesthouse omdat ik niet in een druk hostel wilde slapen. Dit guesthouse was erg rustig (misschien wel te rustig) en er hing niet echt een sociale sfeer.
Ik koos ervoor om in een van de bamboe hutten te slapen, welke (drie) matrassen op de grond hadden. Ik deelde deze hut met twee anderen. Het klinkt misschien niet erg aangenaam, maar het was schoon en dat vond ik het belangrijkste. De badkamers waren buiten en ook redelijk schoon. Er was een gemeenschappelijke ‘ruimte’ buiten onder een afdak met hangmatten, de ideale plek om te chillen en een beetje te lezen.
Er was ook een restaurant, dus ontbijten kon je hier ook.


4 thoughts on “Travel guide: Vang Vieng, Laos

  1. Oh my god the blue lagoon was wonderful. Did.you also jump.from the tree? I did it 6 years ago! What a trip. Nicely written.

    Like

      1. No worries. I remember also that the elephant cave wasn’t as amazing as I expected but still a good experience. Will you ever go back to Vang Vieng?

        Like

Leave a comment