Travel guide: Koh Tao, Thailand

Koh Tao is a lovely island in the Gulf of Thailand. It is known for the tons of diveschools that are on the island. I have been to Koh Tao two years in a row and both times I stayed in Sairee Village, which is probably the main backpacker area. The island has great beaches, cheap hostels and a lot of restaurants and bars.

Koh Tao is een mooi eiland in de Golf van Thailand. Het staat bekend om de vele duikscholen die hier gevestigd zijn. Ik ben twee keer op Koh Tao geweest en beide keren verbleef ik in Sairee Village, wat het backpacker-gebied van het eiland is. Het eiland heeft mooie stranden, goedkope hostels en veel restaurants en bars.

SIGHTS/ ZIEN

 

– Diving
Diving is the main activity on this island. There are a lot of diveschools to choose from. I decided to take my open water course with Roctopus.  It took 4 days to finish this course: the first two days we got ‘theory lessons’, we practiced in the pool and even had to make homework (but making homework on the beach is not a bad thing 😉 ), the other two days we got in the sea for two dives per day. It was an awesome experience and I would highly recommand it!

Duiken is de hoofdactiviteit op het eiland. Er zijn een heleboel duikscholen waar je uit kan kiezen. Ik besloot mijn open water cursus bij Roctopus te doen. De cursus duurde 4 dagen: de eerste twee dagen kregen we ‘theorielessen’, oefenden we in het zwembad en we moesten zelfs huiswerk maken (maar huiswerk maken op het strand is niet zo erg), de andere twee dagen gingen we de zee in en deden we twee duiken per dag. Het was een geweldige ervaring en ik raad het iedereen aan om te proberen!

– Snorkeling
If you are not planning on diving, or if you want to spend more time in the sea, snorkeling is a good option. You can buy or rent gear and do some snorkeling near the rocks at Sairee beach by yourself. But if you want a more active snorkeling trip, then check your hostel because most hostels can sign you up for a snorkeling trip around the island. I went on snorkelingtrips around the island both years and really enjoyed it. Snorkeling around Koh Tao is quite good; on most sites you have good visability and you see a variety of fish. Most snorkeling trips stop at a few of these next spots: Thian Og Bay, Shark Bay, Aow Leuk, Hun Wing Bay, Mango Bay and the little island Koh Nang Yuan.

Als je niet van plan bent om te gaan duiken, of juist meer tijd in de zee wil doorbrengen, is snorkelen een goed idee. Je kan materiaal kopen of huren en zelf gaan snorkelen rond de rotsen bij Sairee Beach, maar je kan ook een snorkeltrip (rond het eiland) boeken bij een hostel. Ik ben beide jaren op zo’n snorkeltrip rond het eiland geweest en vond het erg leuk. Snorkeling rond Koh Tao is vrij goed: op de meeste plaatsen heb je goed zicht en zie je een variatie aan vissen. De meeste snorkeltrips stoppen bij een paar van de volgende snorkelplekken: Thian Og Bay, Shark Bay, Aow Leuk, Hun Wing Bay, Mango Bay en het kleine eilandje Koh Nang Yuan.

In 2015 Nina and I went snorkeling by ourselves at Shark Bay, because we wanted to see sharks. However we had not thought about the idea “What are we going to do when we actually see them?”. There were a few other people snorkeling there and at one moment…people saw a few little black reeftipsharks. It was cool but also scary!

In 2015 gingen Nina en ik zelf snorkelen bij Shark Bay, omdat we haaien wilden zien. Maar we hadden niet bedacht “Wat gaan we doen als we haaien zien?”. Er waren ook wat andere mensen aan het snorkelen en opeens zaken we een paar kleine rifhaaien. Het was leuk maar ook eng!

– Koh Nang Yuan
Visiting Koh Nang Yuan is a must when you are staying at Koh Tao. It is a little island north of Koh Tao (perfect for a daytrip). There is a viewingpoint, there are beaches and it is a great place to do some snorkeling. I believe most people have to leave the island at 5 or 6 o’clock, because there are no hostels?

Een bezoekje aan Koh Nang Yuan is zeker de moeite waar als je op Koh Tao bent. Het is een klein eilandje ten noorden van Koh Tao (goed voor een dagtrip). Ik geloof dat iedereen rond 5 of 6 uur het eiland moet verlaten, omdat er geen hostels zijn?

– The beaches
There are a lot of beaches on Koh Tao and most of them are pretty good. They are wide, usually clean and not too overcrowded. Because there are a lot of palmtrees, there is some shadow as well (be aware of falling coconuts though!) During the day you can lay on the beach while reading a book and relax, while at night you can party at the beachbars.

Er zijn veel stranden op Koh Tao en de meesten zijn erg fijn. Ze zijn breed, (vaak) schoon en niet te druk. Omdat er veel palmbomen staan, is er ook genoeg schaduw (let wel op vallende kokosnoten!). Gedurende de dag kun je lekker op het strand liggen, een boek lezen en relaxen, ‘s avonds kun je feesten bij een van de vele strandtentjes.

I spend most of my time on Sairee Beach. Once I took a taxi to Freedom Beach (on the southcoast of the island), it was even more quieter there.

Ik lag vaak op Sairee Beach. Een keer nam ik een taxi naar Freedom Beach (aan de zuidkust van het eiland), daar was het nog rustiger.

– Watching the sunset
I loved going to the beach in the late afternoon and watch the sunset. I will write a seperate article about it.

Ik vond het geweldig om aan het eind van de middag naar het strand te gaan voor de zonsondergang. Ik zal een apart artikel hierover schrijven.

– Partying
There is a big partyscene on Koh Tao, but it is not annoying, since many people do their diving courses and have to get up early. Most beachbars have a show during the evening that include Thai guys with fire and loud music… It is very entertaining! In the middle of Sairee Village are the Sunset Bar and Lotus Bar. A little walk to the south (5-10 minutes) you will find Fishbowl and The Rock. For people who want to party had and see many bars, there is a pubcrawl a few times a week.

Er is een grote partyscene op Koh Tao, maar die is niet erg storend omdat er ook veel mensen zijn die vroeg op moeten in verband met hun duikcursus. De meeste strandtenten hebben een ‘s avonds een show met Thaise jongens, vuur en harde muziek… dat is erg leuk om te zien! In het midden van Sairee Village vind je Sunset Bar en de Lotus Bar. Een kleine 5-10 minuten lopen naar het zuiden vind je Fishbowl en The Rock. Voor de mensen die flink willen feesten en veel bars willen zien is er een kroegentocht een paar keer per week.

FOOD/ ETEN
I can not talk about the food on Koh Tao without mentioning the 7/11 in Sairee Village. It was during both of my visits a place were I came at least two times a day; sometimes for a quick breakfast (like yoghurt), the 10+ water bottles I drank or a snack.

There are plenty of restaurants in Sairee Village. Wether you want a Thai dish or a Western one, most restaurants even have both. My favorite place to eat was a little restaurant, known for the ‘samosa man‘ (the man who sells samosa’s (the food) in the harbor and on the beach). It is in an alley near 7/11 and opposite a sushi place I believe?! I went there at least four times for dinner with my roommates and, although it took ages for the food the arrive (I think the woman only had one stove) the curries were very delicious and cheap!
I wrote a seperate article about four of my favorite restaurants (including Le Petit Palace and Portobello, click here for that article).
I hear you asking, is there streetfood in Sairee? Yes there is, but not much. Once I ate cheap Pad Thai at a wooden foodstall and once I bought kebab at a foodstall at the corner opposite the ‘famous’ 7/11. Both tasted ok.

Ik kan niet praten over het eten op Koh Tao, zonder de 7/11 in Sairee Village te noemen. Tijdens beide bezoeken kwam ik hier minstens twee keer per dag voor ontbijt, of water of een snack.
Er zijn erg veel restaurants in Sairee Village. Of je nou Thais wilt eten of westers, de meeste restaurants hebben beide. Mijn favoriete plekje was een klein restaurant, bekend van de ‘samosa man’ (de man die samosa’ (bladerdeeghapjes) verkoopt in de haven en op het strand). Het is in een steegje bij de 7/11, tegenover volgens mij een sushi tentje. Ik kwam er afgelopen zomer zeker vier keer vmet mijn kamergenoten uit het hostel. Ondanks dat het elke keer lang duurde voordat we ons etn kregen (volgens mij hadden ze maar 1 kleine gaspit), waren de curries erg lekker en goedkoop! Mijn andere favoriete restaurants (waaronder Le Petit Palace en Portobello) besprak ik in een ander artikel (klik hier voor dat artikel).

Ik hoor je vragen…is er ook streetsfood in Sairee? Ja, maar niet veel. Een keer at ik goedkope Pad Thai bij een houten eettentje en een keer kocht ik kebab bij het tentje naast de 7/11. Beide waren wel ok.

HOSTEL/ SLAPEN
Good Dream Hostel
I found this hostel on Hostelworld. It is one of the best hostels that I have stayed in last year. The dorms were spacious and clean, and the bathrooms were big too. The guys at the reception were always helpfull and friendly. There is a small common area outside where you can sit down and chat. Overall it was a quiet but social hostel. I was lucky that when I did my open water course (for diving) and had to get up early, my roommates were also diving and were not partying.

Ik vond Good Dream Hostel op Hostelworld. Het was een van de beste hostels waar ik vorig jaar heb geslapen. De slaapzalen waren ruim en schoon, en de badkamers waren ook groot. De jongens van de receptie waren altijd behulpzaam en vriendelijk. Er is een kleine gemeenschappelijke ruimte buiten waar je gezellig met mede backpackers kan kletsen. Het is een rustig maar sociaal hostel. Ik had het geluk dat ik, toen ik vroeg naar bed moest voor mijn duik-cursus, mijn kamergenoten ook vroeg op moesten.

Pranee Guesthouse
In 2015 Nina and I stayed at Pranee Gueshouse. After one night in Jizo Hostel (that we did not like- too crowded), we looked for something else. We started talking with a guy who knew the owner of Pranee Guesthouse and so we ended up there for a good price.

The room and bathroom were clean. Our room was at the side of the busy road (the mainroad, opposite the famous 7/11 supermarket that is the center of Sairee Village), but we did not hear a lot of noise. There is no social vibe, but you can easily make friends in other places.

In 2015 deelde ik met Nina een kamer in Pranee Guesthouse. Na een nacht in Jizo Hotel (wat we vreselijk vonden- veel te druk), gingen we op zoek naar iets anders. We raakten aan de praat met een jongen die de eigenaar van Pranee Guesthouse kende en daardoor konden we een kamer krijgen voor een goede prijs. De kamer en badkamer waren schoon. Onze kamer bevond zich aan de voorkant van het pand, recht tegenover de bekende 7/11 supermarkt in het centrum van Sairee Village. Gelukkig hadden we er niet al te veel last van. Er hangt zeker geen sociale sfeer, maar je kan makkelijk ergens anders vrienden maken.

-> Have you been to Koh Tao? I would love to know about more sights and restaurants, so let me know in the comments.

-> Ben jij op Koh Tao geweest? Ik hoor graag over andere bezienswaardigheden en restaurants die de moeite waard zijn, laat het mij weten in de comments.


One thought on “Travel guide: Koh Tao, Thailand

Leave a comment